Skip to content

Charlie Daniels is (Potentially) a Goddamned Liar

March 14, 2011

Happy Monday everyone!

I have been sifting through my brain to try to find something to post about today.  Seeing as I just watched Stop Making Sense (1984) last night, my gut says to write about Talking Heads again, but my brain says that would be the work of an idiot and to write about something else.

 

 

Don’t worry guys, I’ll always come back to you.

 

Then it hit me like a sack of halibut.  Today is the day to finally get a huge weight off of my chest.  God help me, I have always thought and will always think that the Devil should have won the fiddling contest in “The Devil Went Down to Georgia.”

You won fair and square lil’ buddy, you know it and I know it. Now let’s go get some ice creams.

 

I know, this is borderline blasphemous, right?  Well, I defy you to listen to this song and come out on the other side telling me that the Devil’s contribution isn’t both funkier, but all around better than Johnny’s.

I mean, I certainly am a fan of not only Charlie Daniels, but of a good underdog story and this song fulfills both of those requirements.

Yet, at the end of the day, the devil just spanks Johnny raw.  Let us further break it down.

  • Firstly, one of those demons brought a scratch guitar technique.  That is not only a good choice musically, but great preparation.
  • That organ bass line is simultaneously menacing and hard to resist rhythmically.  Double win for the keyboard demon.
  • The Devil himself brings his A-game.  That run is pretty much the fiddle’s version of shredding.
  • It’s instrumental.  The lyrics of Johnny’s segment are pretty much pure nonsense.  The Devil keeps is classy.

Now, Johnny’s tune is pretty good, I’ll be the first to admit, but compared to Beelzebub’s scorching number, it sounds like child’s play.

Game over. Go home Johnny.

 

So, this just begs the question of who is really at fault here.  Is it me for preferring the Devil’s song, or is it Charlie Daniels and his band for writing a better part for Old Scratch than our intrepid Johnny?  I’m really not certain, but at least if I’m going to Hell, Charlie is coming with me.  If I can work up the guitar part, we can play Uneasy Rider for the rest of eternity.

Actually, come to think of it, that sounds pretty fun!

↓  Let us know how you feel about the issue in the comments below ↓

-ZAK

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

